My Little Pocketbooks: Quicky Review #18: Night of Cake and Puppet, Agatha Christie, and England My England   

Wednesday, June 18, 2014

Quicky Review #18: Night of Cake and Puppet, Agatha Christie, and England My England

Welcome back to another Quicky Review.  
A lot of the time I like to read short stories, prequels and free audiobooks that are short and sweet.  But why do a full review on a story that is say...80 pages long.  So I do Quicky Reviews for the shorties and children books as well.  Basically, the short stories get short reviews.
Here are just a few sentences on three audiobooks  (about 2 hours or less) I got from Audible.com. 
There are other Quicky Reviews for you to check out too and don't worry there will be more to come. I like short stories because most of them are FREE and I can get in and out of one in no time.
http://amzn.to/1lzcA08
 Night of Cake and Puppet
Author:  Laini Taylor
Genre: YA Fiction
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Release Date: November 26, 2013
 Audiobook: 2 Hours and 46 minute
 Source: Purchased from Audible.com
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GGBE1NY

 Book Description

 In this new stand-alone novella from New York Times bestselling author Laini Taylor comes the story of a romantic, funny, and fantastical first date. In Night of Cake & Puppets, Taylor brings to life a night only hinted at in the Daughter of Smoke & Bone Trilogy--the magical first date of fan-favorites Zuzana and Mik. Told in alternating perspectives, it's the perfect love story for fans of the series and new readers alike.
Petite though she may be, Zuzana is not known for timidity. Her best friend, Karou, calls her "rabid fairy," her "voodoo eyes" are said to freeze blood, and even her older brother fears her wrath. But when it comes to the simple matter of talking to Mik, or "Violin Boy," her courage deserts her. Now, enough is enough. Zuzana is determined to meet him, and she has a fistful of magic and a plan. It's a wonderfully elaborate treasure hunt of a plan that will take Mik all over Prague on a cold winter's night before finally leading him to the treasure: herself!
Violin Boy's not going to know what hit him.

My Thoughts

OMG!!!   I loved EVERYTHING about this audiobook.  OMG!!!  It was wonderful! beautiful!  well written!  And the perfect story in the mist of all the crazy from all the other books.  I have to say that Khristine (narrator) did not hold to her voice for Zuzana throughout the audiobook but I loved it anyways.  PERFECT story!  I love Zuzana and Mick and now I love them more.  
I just had to add a gif to this one.  It was THAT good!!
http://amzn.to/1nk3SFV
Genre: Autograph
Publisher: Harper Audio
Release Date: July 13, 2012
 Audiobook: 1 hour and 20 minutes
Narrator: Agatha Christie
 Source: Free from Audible.com
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GGBE1NY

 Book Description

Back in print in an all-new edition is the engaging and illuminating chronicle of the life of the "Queen of Mystery". Fans of Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple and readers of John Curran's fascinating biographies Agatha Christie's Secret Notebooks and Murder in the Making will be spellbound by the compelling, authoritative account of one of the world's most influential and fascinating novelists, told in her own words and inimitable style - and here in her own voice. These audio excerpts were dictated by Agatha Christie herself.
The New York Times Book Review called Christie's autobiography a "joyful adventure," saying, "she brings the sense of wonder... to her extraordinary career."

My Thoughts

I didn't finish this audiobook at all.  I had a hard time hearing and understanding what she was saying.  This recording is old and scratchy with a her voice sounding far away from the microphone.  I had to just stop and give up half way in.  

DNF

http://amzn.to/1uDhAXa
Author: Mark Dery
Genre: Humor Essay
Publisher:  Audible Studios
Release Date:  September 10, 2013
 Audiobook: 48 minutes
Narrator: Mark Ashby
 Source: Free from Audible.com
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GGBE1NY

 Book Description

Downton Abbey has brought out the Anglophile in American fans of the hit TV series. But Anglophilia has a long history in America. Why are some native-born residents of our Shining City Upon a Hill, where All Men Are Created Equal, seduced by the fluting tones of manor-born privilege? At last, Anglophilia explained - in American, thank you.

My Thoughts

What the heck?  This was a waste!  I have no idea what the point of the essay was at all.  What?  I feel a bit upset I wasted 48 minutes of my time on this.  Nothing was explained at all.  Waste!  Thank God I didn't pay for it.

No comments:

Post a Comment